Bachelor of Science in Tourism Event Management

Programme OverviewExpand / Collapse

IFTM offers the Bachelor of Science degree in Tourism Event Management in both English and Chinese as the medium of instruction. In light of the economic development of the Macao SAR, IFTM launched the Bachelor of Science in Tourism Event Management degree programme in 2005, with an intake of around 40 students per year. Modelled after our popular Tourism Business Management and Hotel Management degree programmes, the Tourism Event Management degree aims to nurture new generations of skilled workforce for the growing events industry.

First of its kind in Macao, the degree programme has been very popular among high-school graduates looking for promising career prospects in the events sector. The overwhelming demand resulted in IFTM doubling student intake in 2009. Catering to working professionals, IFTM launched an evening version of the Tourism Event Management degree programme delivered in Chinese in 2010. To date, IFTM has a student intake capacity of 120 for this degree programme although IFTM maintains a small class size of around 35 students to enrich the students' learning experience.

As one of the most popular programmes in IFTM, the BSc in Tourism Event Management degree has a small class size of 35 students, and currently takes in two classes in the daytime English programme and one class in the evening Chinese programme. The Tourism Event Management degree programme is known for its practical components which students are required to organise and host public live events.

Since the inception of the degree programme, students had partnered with numerous local and international charities organisations to raise funds and awareness of the charities' work. A number of previous events were targeted at primary school children where students incorporated pro-environment concepts like recycling art and responsible eating in fun and engaging activities. In one year, students had even attempted and successfully created a World Guinness Record. The events organised by the students were often featured in local newspapers and television programmes, a definite recognition of students' contribution to a better society.

Students are also required to complete a number of academic courses led by a team of scholars active in research, whose classes are informed by latest cutting-edge research in events in Macao. The faculty team members regularly attend international conferences, publish journal articles and book chapters and frequently engaged in consultancy research projects.

All students are also required to undertake a six-month internship placement at a local or overseas establishment. Students are also encouraged to complete a semester in one of our exchange partners around the world. The daytime English and evening Chinese programmes are mostly similar with a few key differences. The most notable of which is the graduating thesis/project requirement which students of the daytime English degree programme have to complete. 

Tourism Event Management graduates enjoy a very colourful future: among the preferred by the industry and many accepted into postgraduate programmes locally and overseas. Our graduates are among the preferred ones in the local tourism, events and hospitality industry with many of whom today in senior managerial positions. Many graduates were admitted and successfully completed postgraduate programmes locally and overseas.

Indeed, the Bachelor of Science in Tourism Event Management degree programmes are accredited by UNWTO. TedQual Certification System, ensuring that the programme is of international standards and recognised globally. IFTM has also won many awards and recognised by other accrediting bodies; to see a list of our recognitions, click here.

Programme Structure and CurriculumExpand / Collapse

The curriculum requires students to undertake a variety of courses over four years of studies. The following is an overview of the study plan for the Bachelor of Science degree in Tourism Event Management:

Year 1 students are required to study general management subjects such as management and accountancy, as well as key skill courses such as numeracy and language. In addition, students are required to undertake a series of practicum courses, such as front desk, housekeeping, restaurant, pastry and others.

Year 2 students begin to undertake degree-specific courses such as Introduction to Events Industry and Event Planning and Coordination. Students are also to organise public events with close supervision from experienced course lecturers.

Year 3 students undertake more advanced subjects such as Facilities and Properties Management, Advanced Marketing and Research Methods. In addition, students are required to independently conceptualise, plan, organise and evaluate an event targeted at the public with advice from course lecturers. Students also complete a 6-month internship placement during their third year of study; click here for more info.

Year 4 students are required to undertake advanced and specialised subjects in event management, such as Festivals and Events, Event Risk Management and Public Relations, in addition to management courses such as Human Resources Management, Service Quality Management, Strategic Management and Consumer Behaviour. The most challenging and interesting of all is the Thesis/Project where students are required to undertake an independent and extended piece of research; for more info, click here.

In Year 1 to Year 3, students are required to learn a foreign language, either Japanese, Mandarin or Portuguese. There are also a variety of extra-curricular activities students are encouraged to join, as well as the many activities organised by the Students Union and its sub-clubs to enrich their campus life.

In addition, students have ample opportunities for international outreach, such as joining international exchange programmes with partner institutions and joining the many short-term exchange programmes abroad.

Students are also able to undertake elective courses on offer in Year 2, 3 and 4. For a full list, check out pp.13-14 on our prospectus. For a detailed overview of our programme and other degrees offered in IFT, click here to download our prospectus!

Signature CoursesExpand / Collapse

Students of this programme are able to undertake a range of signature courses:

MICE413 Festivals and Events

Festivals and events have different levels of operating costs, and they can be either not-for-profit or profit making. Their purpose varies, some have an entertainment and educational remit and can be used to bring different communities together, while others are used for business promotion. This course offers an understanding of significant festival management and event sponsorship issues. The nature and organisation of festivals is examined, with emphasis on the various impacts of festivals.

HMGT217 Supervised Work Experience

Supervised Work Experience is a "Practical Management" work assignment subject. The course allows all students to put their theory into practice and experience "Real Life" management situations. It will develop and expand their management skills, supervision, planning, preparation, communication, confidence, guest contact skills, motivation, knowledge, creative skills, directional skills and their ability to make sound effective decisions.

MICE212 Event Planning and Coordination

This course will introduce the knowledge and techniques required for event planning, coordination and operations. Staring from event idea creation, students will go through the whole planning process, including venue selection, event promotion, logistics, budgeting and HR planning. At the end of the course, the students should be able to apply these knowledge in the real-world situation through creating an event proposal. Present trends and innovations in the event industry will also be discussed. The students will investigate new approaches, materials and equipment being utilised to operate events ranging from a conference to a special event.

MICE213 Introduction to Events Industry

The meetings, incentives, conferences and exhibitions (MICE) and events sector of the tourism industry has experienced tremendous growth globally, with many destinations already investing in major MICE facilities. This course will give an overall understanding of the key elements of the MICE industry, such as different types of events, key players in the industry. Students will also learn about the growth and trend of major MICE destination throughout the world.

MICE311 Event Management: Hosting an Event

The course aims to provide students with the knowledge, skills and tools for successfully conceptualising, researching, planning, organising, implementing and evaluating an event at IFTM. Under the direction of a faculty supervisor, the class will be given the opportunity to plan, promote, operate and evaluate a live event the students will draw upon the skills and knowledge they have developed during the second year to run a successful event at IFTM. An important component of this course is on project management orientation, whereby students will be taught project management skills and tools to effectively plan, budget, schedule, allocate resources, form project teams, understand team dynamics and monitor the progress of the project.

MGMT417 Public Relations

This course sets out to understand the theory and practice of modern day public relations, and its role in building mutually beneficial relationships with event stakeholders and consumers. From learning the basic tools and concepts of PR, these will be applied within practical scenarios and uses within event management. Particularly in the world of hosting and planning of events, dynamic and creative PR action and solutions are required to communicate and maintain support with all the event stakeholders.

MICE411 Event Risk Management

Risk management is the process of making and carrying out decisions that minimise the adverse effects of the potential losses of an event. This course will enable students to clearly understand the strategies of risk management and logistical elements to safeguard people, property, reputation and assets and to host an event safely and securely. This course provides a risk management perspective on planning and documentation, the value of this information can be integrated into hosting a real event.

Internship ProgrammesExpand / Collapse

The Internship Programme aims to provide our students the opportunity to consolidate their theoretical foundation through practical experience. A major component of this experience is the formation of a professional attitude. The students are expected to develop their personality and capacity to adapt to, and handle, challenging situations in the real business world. Through the internship programme, the students should be able to acquire transferable skills such as communications skills, interpersonal skills, technical skills, teamwork skills, management skills and problem-solving skills. Last but not least, the students can explore their interest in future career development. Please click to see the list of local or global internship providers (academic year 2019/2020).

The Internship Programme is required for all bachelor degree students. Each English degree programme student is expected to complete six consecutive months of internship during which he/she must work for a minimum of 800 hours. While Chinese degree programme student can choose to undertake 800 working hours of internship over a maximum period of two years counting from the commencement of his/her internship or six consecutive months and complete a minimum total of 800 working hours. Each student is expected to be supervised by a mentor throughout the internship. The student will need to fill in a monthly report to report his/her progress during the internship whereas the mentor will need to give an appraisal to the student on a monthly basis.

For more information on the Internship Programme, please contact the Practicum and Internship Team at intern@iftm.edu.mo or (853) 8598-3050 / 8598-1256 / 8598-1520.

Semester Incoming and Outgoing Exchange ProgrammeExpand / Collapse

To enrich the cultural experience of our students, IFTM started receiving exchange students in academic year 1996/97. Since then IFTM has received almost 800 students! The photos below highlight their study at IFTM and life in Macao. Please click here to know more about our incoming exchange programme.

IFTM students realise that there is nothing better than emerging themselves in a foreign setting to personally experience cultural challenges. Since the first pioneers set their footsteps overseas in academic year 2000/01, our students have pursued valuable overseas study experiences in Australia, Austria, Canada, Chinese Taiwan, Denmark, Japan, Finland, France, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, South Korea, the Netherlands, United Kingdom, and the United States of America and more. Please click here to know more about our outgoing exchange programme.

旅游会展及节目管理学士学位课程

课程概览开启 / 关闭

澳门旅游学院开设旅游会展及节目管理学士学位课程,分别设有英文学制和中文学制。鉴于澳门特别行政区的经济发展,澳门旅游学院于2005年开设该课程,每年招收40名学生。课程以本院广受欢迎的旅游企业管理和酒店管理学士学位课程为蓝本,旨在为蓬勃发展的旅游会展行业培养新一代的技术人才。

该学位课程在澳门尚属首创,会展行业不断发展,职业前景良好,深受希望从事会展业的高中毕业生欢迎。因需求巨大, 2009 年澳门旅游学院的学生人数增了一倍。为满足在职专业人士的需求,本院于 2012 年开设了旅游会展及节目管理学位中文学制的晚间课程。 迄今为止,该课程可招120名学生,但澳门旅游学院坚持每班约35人的小班教学模式,以丰富学生的学习体验和经历。

作为澳门旅游学院最受欢迎的课程之一,旅游会展及节目管理学士学位课程目前开设两班,分别为日间的英文学制课程和晚间的中文学制课程。旅游会展及节目管理学士学位课程以其实践部份着称,学生需要组织和主持公开现场活动。自课程开设以来,学生与众多本地和国际慈善组织合作,帮助筹集资金、提升公众对慈善工作的认识。课程学生曾举办面向小学生的活动,融入化废品为艺术、责任饮食等环保理念,既妙趣横生又富有吸引力。在2011年,学生们甚至尝试并成功创造了新的健力士世界纪录。本地报纸及电视节目时常报导课程学生组织的活动,这无疑是对学生们为建立美好社会所做贡献的认可。同时,旅游会展及节目管理学士学位课程的学生也受邀参与举办开放日、圣诞节、春季午宴等校内活动。

学生还需要完成一系列学术课程,学术课程的授课学者团队活跃于相关研究领域,参考澳门会展业最新前沿研究进行授课。教师团队成员更定期参加国际会议,发表期刊文章和书籍章节并经常参与谘询研究项目。

所有学生还必须在本地或海外机构进行为期六个月的实习。本院鼓励学生到世界各地的合作院校完成一个学期的交流学习。日间的英文学制课程和晚间的中文学制课程大致相同,其中最显着的区别是日间的英文学制课程的学生必须完成毕业论文/项目。

旅游会展及节目管理专业的毕业生前途光明,不但受到业界的青睐,更有许多毕业生被本地及海外的研究生课程录取。 我们的毕业生是本地旅游、活动和酒店业的首选,其中许多毕业生现在担任高级管理职位。 许多毕业生获本地及海外院校录取并成功修毕研究生课程。旅游会展及节目管理学士学位课程经联合国世界旅游组织旅游教育品质认证体系认证,符合国际水准且获全球认可。澳门旅游学院还获得了许多奖项,并得到其他认证机构的认可;如欲瞭解认证详情,请点击此处

课程结构及学习计划开启 / 关闭

本课程要求学生在四年中学习各类科目。以下是旅游会展及节目管理学士学位课程设置概述:

第一学年,学生须学习管理和会计等通用管理科目及计算和语言等核心技能科目。此外,学生还须修读一系列实践课,如前台、客房服务、餐厅、饼房等。

第二学年,学生开始学习学位专业课程,如会展业概论、会展计划与协调等。学生还将组织公开性活动。课程导师经验丰富,悉心指导学生如何组织公众活动。

第三学年,学生将学习更为进阶的科目,如设备及财产管理、高级市场学、质量调查方法等。此外,学生需在课程导师的建议下,独立构思、策划、组织及评估一项面向公众的活动。在第三学年中,学生还要完成为期六个月的实习;更多详情,请点击此处

第四学年,学生需学习高级及专业科目,如节庆与盛会、会展危机管理和公共关系等。此外,学生还需学习管理类的课程,如人力资源管理、服务质量管理、策略管理学和消费者行为学等。最具趣味和挑战性的则是毕业论文/专案,学生需就此展开独立、广泛的研究;更多详情,请点击此处

学生需在一至三学年中学习一门语言,可选择日语、普通话或葡萄牙语。学院亦鼓励学生参加各类课外活动及由学生会及其分会组织的多样活动,丰富校园生活。

此外,学生还有大量国际交流机会,如参加合作院校国际交换生计划及众多短期海外交换生计划等。

二、三、四学年中,学生还可选择选修课程。完整课程清单详见招生简章第13至14页。如欲进一步瞭解本课程及澳门旅游学院其他学位课程的概览,请点击此处下载招生简章!

特色科目 开启 / 关闭

选读此课程之学生可修读以下特色科目

MICE413节庆与盛会

虽然节庆与盛会的营运成本各有高低且目的不一,但两者皆可属牟利或非牟利性质,既可以寓教育于娱乐来凝聚各社团,又可以为推广商业之用。本科目将协助学生掌握管理节庆及赞助盛会的窍门,并以各节庆所带出的影响来检视节庆的性质及安排。

HMGT217实务督导

实务督导为一门学习如何「实务管理」工作的科目,学生将可把理论付诸实践并亲身体会「实际环境」中的各种管理情况。除建立学生自信及丰富其知识外,科目亦会协助学生发展管理、监督、策划、筹备、沟通、接待、激励及指导技巧,并培养具备作出合理且有效决定之能力。

MICE212会展计划与协调

本科目将介绍为筹备、协调及举办盛会所需具备的知识及技巧。由构思开始,学生将可亲身经历各个筹备阶段,当中包括选址、推广、物流、预算及人力安排。科目完结时,学生将掌握如何在现实环境中运用相关知识,撰写举办盛会之建议书。科目亦将行业现况及变革纳入讨论范围,并让学生探讨现时举办会议及盛会所采用的新方式、物资及设备。

MICE213会展业概论

随着世界各地投资兴建大型会展设施,会展业及旅游业内举办大型活动的从业员均经历翻天复地的全球性变化。本科目将介绍构成会展业的重要元素,例如:各类型的盛会及行内的重要成员。学生亦会涉猎世界各地的会展业发展及形势。

MICE311会展管理:筹办盛会

本科目旨在让学生构思、研究、策划、组织、实行及评估校内举办之盛会,在学院导师的带领下,学生将有机会运用于第二学年为在校内举办盛会而研习的技巧及知识来策划、推广、举行及评估一个真实的盛会。本科目的其中一个重要元素为项目管理培训,当中学生将会研习项目管理技巧以及如何使用能有效计划、预计、安排及分配资源的工具,同时还会学习如何建立项目团队、了解团队动力及监督项目进展。

MGMT417公共关系

本科目将介绍当今的公共关系理论及实践,以及公共关系在建立会展业界及消费者之间互惠互利关系的角色。学生将学习公共关系的基本手段及概念,并将其应用到实际场境及活动管理,尤其在举办及规划盛事的世界中,富有活力及创意的公共关系活动及方案更是令业内各持分者能沟通及合作无间所不能或缺的元素。

MICE411会展危机管理

危机管理为审视情况及执行决定的过程,从而令盛会中可能出现的负面影响降至最低。本科目将让学生清晰明白危机管理策略及运筹元素,从而保障人员、财物、名声及资产以及确保盛会能安全地举行。本科目以危机管理的预案及文件管理的观点出发,协助学生掌握如何将该等宝贵资讯融入到举办真正的盛会中。

实习计划 开启 / 关闭

这个实习计划的目的是通过实习来巩固我们学生的理论基础。其中一个主要部分包括培养专业的态度。让学生建立个人特质以适应及处理真实商业界中的各种挑战和情况。透过这个实习计划,学生应掌握沟通技巧、人际关系、专业技能、团队合作、管理知识及解难能力等技能。最后,学生可以探讨自己对未来职业发展的兴趣。请点击查阅本地环球实习机构名单(2019/2020学年)

所有学士学位学生必须参与实习计划。每位英文学制的学生需完成连续6个月的实习,并工作时数不可低于800小时。而每位中文学制的学生可以选择在开始实习后的两年内完成800小时的实习或完成连续6个月并不可低于800小时的实习。每位学生应在实习期间接受导师的指导。学生需要填写一份月度报告以上报实习期间的进展,而导师则需每月对学生进行评估。

如想获得实习计划的更多资讯,请透过intern@iftm.edu.mo或 (853) 8598-3050联络负责团队。

交换生项目开启 / 关闭

为丰富学生的文化体验,澳门旅游学院自1996/97学年起已经开始接收交换生。至今,澳门旅游学院已经接收了近800名学生!请点击此处了解更多有关交换生课程的信息及查看交换生们在澳门旅游学院和澳门的学习与生活。

澳门旅游学院的学生意识到没有比亲自沉浸在外国环境中体验文化挑战更好的体验了。自2000/01学年第一届踏出向外交流脚步的师兄姐们,我们的学生不断争取在澳洲、奥地利、加拿大、中国台湾、丹麦、日本、芬兰、法国、葡萄牙、瑞典、南韩、荷兰、英国及美国等地的国际交流机会。请点击这此处了解更多有关国际交流课程的信息。